Five Love Languages Brief Summary

Five Love Languages Brief Summary
  • Page:
  • Words:
  • Downloads:
Disclaimer: This work has been donated by a student. This is not an example of the work produced by our Essay Writing Service.

‘The Five Love Languages’ is an interesting book because it advises spouses how to love one another in a long-lasting way. The book teaches individuals how to treat, love, and respect their spouses. Learning the five languages of love, therefore, helps spouses to succeed in the field of love. The book also equips individuals with the knowledge that enables them to advise their friends and family members about how to treat their partners. The fact that love is a field that involves two individuals from different families makes the book significant because it teaches them all the essential aspects of love.


Gary Chapman discusses the five signs of language that include physical touch, quality time, gifts, words of affirmation, and acts of service (Chapman, 2010). Chapman argues that the first sign, which is the words of affirmation, is whereby individuals comment positively about their spouses and their actions. The author advises individuals to use humble and encouraging words when speaking to their spouses in their presence and also when they are absent (Chapman, 2010). According to Chapman (2010), the second language of love is quality time that involves giving a spouse undivided attention. The author argues that partners should create time when they talk about their relationship and carry out activities together. Spouses do this by ensuring that nothing distracts them during this time. For example, they should switch off the radio and the television, maintain eye contact and concentrate on body language (Chapman, 2010). The third language is the receiving of gifts. This rule argues that spouses should give each other gifts occasionally such as during birthdays and anniversaries. The author explains how the failure to give a spouse gifts may lead to a feeling of rejection. The fourth language of love is the acts of service involve carrying out of activities that please the other spouse. For example, the author argues that planting a garden is an act of service that acts as a gift to a spouse. Chapman (2010) postulates that individuals feel appreciated and loved when their spouses perform them these acts. Chapman argues that the last language of love is physical touch. The author explains how touching a spouse acts as an efficient channel of communicating love. He also advises spouses to touch one another by kissing, holding hands, embracing, and engaging in sex to convey emotional love (Chapman, 2010). Chapman writes questions at the end of every topic to enable readers to understand the content of each chapter. The questions also enable readers to measure the level to which they use each sign language. The measurements then enable the audience to formulate techniques of improving the use of each language to create a lasting relationship with their spouses.

Comparison with Course Material

The content of the five love languages agrees with the lessons that we have learnt in class. For example, in the course, we learn that women face numerous health risks that may cause severe consequences when ignored. Stress is one of the risks that women face and it may arise from a troublesome relationship with a spouse. The course teaches women to save their health by eliminating factors that cause depression. Since the five love languages teach men and women how to love one another ideally, it means that the book aims at eliminating dissatisfaction and stress from a relationship. The book concentrates on love while it ignores other health issues that women face such as reproductive diseases. This means that when women read this book and follow its advice, it does not guarantee one hundred percent health. Therefore, women have to search for information on other issues that face them such as how to prevent diseases such as bacterial infections.


The book is efficient in teaching spouses how to live with one another in a respectful and loving manner. It teaches individuals how to treat their spouses and advise their friends who fall in love. Chapman’s text influences people’s behaviour because after reading it, individuals practice the five languages of love and this reduces conflicts in relationships. The author should have included a topic that teaches spouses how to safeguard their health. This is because some readers such as men may not understand all the health risks that women face and this may limit them from practising the five languages of love.

Chapman, G. D. (2010). The Five Love Languages, Men’s Edition: The secret love that lasts. Chicago: Northfield Press.